How Do I Qualify for Unemployment in Oregon
In order to qualify for unemployment benefits in Oregon, you must meet certain eligibility requirements. These requirements include:
- Work history: You must have worked in Oregon for at least 12 months in the past 18 months before you filed your claim.
- Separation from employment: You must have lost your job through no fault of your own, such as layoffs or a reduction in hours. If you quit your job, you may still be eligible if you had a good cause for quitting, such as unsafe working conditions.
- Availability for work: You must be able and willing to work and actively seeking employment.
- Income: You must have earned enough wages during a set period of time known as a “base period” to establish a claim.
- Reason for separation: You must not have been discharged from your job for misconduct.
It’s important to note that these requirements may change, so you should check with the Oregon Employment Department or a qualified employment attorney To file a claim, you can visit the ESD website (https://unemployment.oregon.gov/workers/file-a-claim) or call the ESD’s toll-free number (1-877-345-3484).
If You Are Denied Unemployment
If you are denied unemployment benefits in Oregon, you have the option to appeal the decision. Here are the steps you can take:
- Request a hearing: Within 15 days of receiving the denial (to allow for mail), you can request a hearing with an administrative law judge. You will receive a notice of hearing, which will include the date, time, and location of the hearing. We advise you to get an attorney to represent you.
- You or your attorney will prepare your case: Before the hearing, gather any evidence or documentation that supports your claim, such as pay stubs, letters from your former employer, or witness statements, or sworn affidavits from people who can’t attend.
- Attend the hearing: At the hearing, you will have the opportunity to present your case and respond to questions from the judge. You may also bring witnesses or other evidence to support your claim. Your attorney will advise you on what you have to prove to win and how to focus your answers to obtain the best result.
- Wait for the decision: The judge will make a decision based on the evidence presented at the hearing. The decision will be sent to you in writing.
- Appeal the decision: If you are still dissatisfied with the decision, you may appeal to the Unemployment Insurance Board of Review. You must file your appeal within 30 days of receiving the decision. Any appeal beyond the Unemployment Insurance Board of Review is to the Oregon Court of Appeals.
To Learn More, Call Employment Law Professionals Today
It is always in your best interest to seek legal advice as soon as you have questions. We recommend that you get the assistance of an attorney, as the appeals process can be complex and difficult to navigate on your own, and the employer or Employment Department will be represented in the hearing.
Our firm gives each client the individualized attention they deserve. We listen with compassion and then come up with a plan to move forward. To schedule a consultation, call our office in Sherwood at +1-971-213-8975 today. You can also fill out our contact form.