People work many different types of jobs in Oregon. These jobs are in different industries, in different work environments, different types of hours and days and have many other differences. However, despite all the differences the reason that people have jobs is to earn money in order to provide for themselves and their families. In order to actually provide for themselves and families, they must be paid a proper wage and be paid for the hours they work. These are known as wage and hour laws.
Minimum wage and overtime requirements
To ensure this occurs there are laws regarding minimum wage. This is the minimum amount people can earn per hour of work. In Oregon that amount depends on where people live. In the Portland area minimum wage is $12.50 per hour, the standard amount is $11.25 per hour and $11.00 per hour in non-urban areas.
In addition to this people are also must earn time and a half for the time they work more than 40 hours in a week. This means that if they normally earn $12.50 per hour, for hours more than 40 hours a week they must be paid $18.75 per hour. There are some exceptions to these overtime rules for certain industries such as agriculture.
People also must be paid for all hours they spend performing duties related to their employment. This includes the time spent putting on and taking off protective equipment, cleaning and preparing work stations, wait time, if the employee is not free to do what they want during that time and other time related to employment.
Earning the proper amount for the time a person work is very important and that is why there are laws regarding minimum wage and overtime. However, despite these laws being in place there are some employers who do not pay overtime or do not pay minimum wage for all hours worked. In these situations the worker may have a wage and hour claim against the employer. Experienced attorneys understand these laws and may be able to help protect the workers’ rights.